HostArmada Review (July 2021) – After Using 300+ Days

HostArmada is a new hosting company, with promising services and excellent customer support. The key features include daily backups , free website migration and fewer clients per server.

Planning to buy hosting from HostArmada and wondering about the speed and uptime results? You are at the right place for HostArmada Review 2021.

I have been monitoring their service for over 300 days with two different plans that I purchased. And I did the review now because HostArmada recently changed their servers. The results after the change were impressive.

I have included the results of the speed test, uptime test and all the details related to the tests. We will also check their plans, pricing, refund policy and the pros & cons. We will also analyse their customer support and the technology used.

And do read the article till the end as I have included a special coupon code which will get you 75% off on their plans. 

Without much further ado, let’s get right to the article! 

HostArmada Review

Kripesh Adwani

Speed
Ease of Use
Pricing
Uptime
Customer Support

Summary

HostArmada is a new web hosting company which provides feature pack service at affordable prices. After using it for 300+ days I can say that it does good with speed and support but needs some improvement in uptime.

4.1

Disclaimer : I strongly believe in transparency. If you buy using the links on our site, we may earn a small commission without any extra cost to you. This helps me to keep producing honest reviews. Read More >>

About HostArmada

HostArmada is a US-based company, formed in 2019. This is a new web hosting company with affordable prices and offers a wide range of web hosting types.

HostArmada Home page

The employees of HostArmada have vast experience in web hosting, as most of them worked in reputed companies like FastComet, HostPapa. And most of them are from Bulgaria.

This implies that the team from FastComet having experience in web hosting formed a new company. FastComet is a well-established company and provides reliable hosting.

Check the video of FastComet review here.

HostArmada Features Overview

SpeedShared Hosting: Web Warp – 1.19 sec (using cache plugins)
Speed Reaper – 1.6 sec (using default cache plugins)
Uptime ( )
Backup and RestorationFree daily backups for all the plans
Website MigrationStart Dock plan – 1 free migration
Web Warp plan – 3 free migrations
Speed Reaper plan – 5 free migrations
SecurityFree SSL for all domains,
Immunify 360,
Backup and Restoration,
Firewall
SupportLive chat (very quick), Knowledge Base, Ticketing system.
Payment OptionsCredit Card, PayPal
PricingStarting from $3.99/month (appr Rs.300)
Hosting PlansShared Hosting, VPS Hosting, Dedicated Hosting
Refund Policy45-days Refund Policy

HostArmada Video Review

For people interested in video can watch this HostAramda review video in Hindi (English subtitles available).

HostArmada User Interface

The interface is easy to navigate, which includes cPanel, a control panel to manage the websites. Under the dashboard, you get the details of your plans, domains, support tickets and cPanel to control your plans. 

cPanel

With cPanel, you get all the control options for your websites. You can manage the backups, email settings, databases, files and domains.

You can install additional software, security tools and you get the statistics on the server resources used by your website.

HostArmada Statistics

Ease of Use

HostArmada’s user interface is easy to use, with standard naming for ease of understanding. Under the dashboard, you will get the details of your plans with cPanel.

And under ‘My Account’, you can access the account details with payment methods, security settings and manage your plans here.

HostArmada My account

Testing Parameters

For this review, I have purchased two different plans of Cloud SSD Shared Hosting, with servers of Bangalore, India. 

The plans are Web Warp (Apache servers) and Speed Reaper (Apache servers), both cloud-based SSD shared hosting plans.

Both the plans have vast features like daily backups, unlimited websites, free domain registration/transfer and free SSL for all domains.  

And my website is based on OceanWP theme with a Gym template, and this theme is based on Elementor. 

I have used Cache-Enabler and Autoptimize cache plugins for the Web Warp plan, and Litespeed cache for the Speed Reaper plan.

HostArmada Server Response Time

Server response time refers to the time taken by the server to respond to the request for the website by a user. 

I did this test for both the plans and found the results pleasing. 

For the Web Warp plan, the server response time was 5 ms for the Mumbai server. With the data centre in India, you can expect a quick server response. Hence, the response time was slowest for US servers (254 ms to 329 ms). And it is 60 ms for the Singapore server. 

HostArmada Web Warp Server Response Time

The Speed Reaper plan server has a similar server response time. For the Mumbai server, the response time is 2 ms with this plan. The response time for the US server is 245 ms. And 59 ms for the Singapore server.

HostArmada Server Response(Speed Reaper)

No complaints about server response time. Both the plans got decent results, with Speed Reaper giving quicker server response time among the two.

This is good compared to the BlueHost servers. I have published an article on BlueHost, check it out for a detailed review. 

HostArmada Speeds

The website loading speed for HostArmada servers is satisfactory. This test is to check the time taken to load the website for the user. 

The time taken to load the website by the Web Warp server on average is 1.19 sec. This was using the cache plugins mentioned on their website, Cache-Enabler and Autoptimize. 

HostArmada Web Warp Speed Test

And the Speed Reaper server loaded the website slower, in just about 1.6 sec. This was without tuning up my website with any cache plugins and other tools.

HostArmada Speed Reaper Speed Test

You get MemCache support with the Speed Reaper plan, which helps for eCommerce websites that expect huge traffic. The LiteSpeed servers are suited for business websites and websites with more than usual traffic. 

Both the servers gave similar test results, and I am satisfied with the speeds of both the servers. 

HostArmada Uptime

Website Uptime is the time duration for which a website remains online and is accessible by the users. Bad uptime often results in the loss of your users and this affects your business.

The ideal uptime should be around 99.99% to 99.90%. Good uptime can help your website to gain more users and increase your reach. 

Considering an uptime of 99.99% for your website, then the total downtime is 43 minutes 50 seconds in a month and 8 hours 45 minutes in a year.

I have considered the uptime for 307 days now, and the results of both the plans were poor. 

The uptime for the Web Warp plan for the last 323 days was 99.88%, with total downtime being 7 hours and 23 minutes. The longest incident stretched for 1 hour and 5 minutes, among 36 incidents.

Last 12 months Average Uptime: Web Warp Plan

  • June 2021 : 100%
  • May 2021 : 100%
  • April 2021 : 99.62%
  • March 2021 : 99.95%
  • February 2021 : 99.73%
  • January 2021 : 99.66%
  • December 2020 : 100%
  • November 2020 : 100%
  • October 2020 : 100%

I got an email from HostArmada, stating that the Indian servers have been upgraded with many changes. Since getting the mail, my uptime has been close to 100% for over 2 months. 


Advancing to the Speed Reaper plan, the uptime was 88.44% with an incident lasting for 1 month and 1 week, which was because of my fault. And before this incident, the uptime was 99.66%, which is still poor. 

Last 12 months Average Uptime: Speed Reaper Plan

  • June 2021 : 100%
  • May 2021 : N.A
  • April 2021 : 99.87%
  • March 2021 : 98.74%
  • February 2021 : 99.70%
  • January 2021 : 99.93%
  • December 2020 : 99.95%
  • November 2020 : 99.97%
  • October 2020 : 99.83%

My suggestion will be the Web Warp plan over the Speed Reaper plan, considering the test results.

HostArmada Load Test

With load tests, we can gain information on the performance and efficiency of the server, and the maximum load the server can take

Here, I sent 50 real virtual users for both websites to test how the servers manage the load in case of traffic spikes in real users. 

The Web Warp server managed the load with ease. Out of 12k requests made, there were no HTTP failures with the average response time being 8.42 ms. 

HostArmada WebWarp.Load Test

Coming to the Speed Reaper server, using the LiteSpeed cache plugin, there were no HTTP failures from the 2.3k requests. But there was a huge spike in the response time with the average being around 4k ms.

HostArmada Speed Reaper Load Test

If you prefer the LiteSpeed server, then read my Hostinger Review, as they provide better service on LiteSpeed servers. 

The Web Warp Apache server gave better results than the Speed Reaper server.

Cache Plugins

You get an inbuilt cache commander to manage the cache plugins. With the Web Warp plan, you get the basic cache plugin of the server. 

But with the Speed Reaper plan, you get advanced-cache plugins. These are Memcached, APC, OpCache. You can control the cache plugins using the cPanel. Using these cache plugins leads to faster loading times and improves the performance of your website.

HostArmada Data Centers

HostArmada has 9 data centers across the globe. Here is the list of the data centers:

  • Fremont, California, USA
  • Dallas, Texas, USA
  • Newark, New Jersey, USA
  • Toronto, Ontario, CA
  • London, United Kingdom
  • Frankfurt, Germany
  • Mumbai, India
  • Singapore, Singapore
  • Sydney, Australia
HostArmada Data Centers

HostArmada Backups

HostArmada provides backup for all the plans in shared hosting. And the backups are done off-server.

Under the ‘JETBACKUP’ section, you have file backups, database backups and email backups. However, there is no option for manual backup. You need to ask the support team for manual backup or create a ticket for the same.

HostArmada Backup

You can restore all the files and databases, but you have to do this separately, not together. 

HostArmada offers backup of the last 7 days for the Start Dock plan, 14 days for the Web Warp plan and 21 days for the Speed Reaper plan.

HostArmada Support

You get 24/7 live chat support with quick replies and the website has a decent knowledge base.

My experience with the customer support team has been good. The support is quick, technical and on-point. You may feel that they want to help you and have vast knowledge.

In one scenario, they offered to change the speed settings for cache plugins to improve my WordPress website. Very few hosting providers help you in this way with the shared hosting plan. This will be very helpful for beginners.  

HostArmada Support

But one thing that I didn’t like is that the support won’t create a ticket on your behalf, you have to do it yourself. 

Customer support of many hosting companies, with whom you have shared your problem, create a ticket on your behalf. 

Overall, the support was excellent and very helpful. As they are a new company, will they be able to continue the same in case of an increase in customers? This will be a question mark. 

HostArmada Inode Count

Inode count refers to the total number of all the files of your website and directories. This includes emails, files, folders and everything that you store on the server. For each file that you add or get a new mail, the inode count increases by one.

HostArmada offers a decent inode count for the shared hosting plans.

  • Start Dock – 250k
  • Web Warp – 350k
  • Speed Reaper – 500k

HostArmada Pricing & Plans

Shared Hosting

HostArmada Shared Hosting starts from $3.99 / month. Features include unmetered bandwidth, free SSL for all domains, daily backups and unlimited sub-domains and databases. 

HostArmada shared hosting plans

VPS Hosting

There are four plans for VPS Hosting starting from $41.21 / month. Features include good storage, daily backups and the privacy of a private server.

HostArmada VPS Hosting plans

Dedicated Hosting

Websites with huge traffic and global audience require a dedicated server. You can choose Dedicated Hosting for this. It is expensive and plans start from $149 / month. 

HostArmada Dedicated hosting

HostArmada Refund Policy

HostArmada has a 45-day money-back guarantee for shared hosting and a 7-day money-back guarantee for VPS and dedicated hosting. 

HostArmada Money back policy

You can try out any plan of your choice and if not satisfied with their service, you can request a refund during this period (45 days). 

HostArmada Discount Coupon Code

If you are planning to buy web hosting from HostArmada, then here is a surprise from my side. This is a chance for you to get your favourite hosting plan for the cheapest price. 

Here is how to claim this:

  1. Visit the HostArmada official website -> HostArmada Website
  2. Apply my special coupon code ‘KRIPESH75’ during checkout to claim 75% off!

HostArmada Domains

HostArmada provides registration of new domains. Price for .com domain extension starts from $11.99/year. It has a huge domains extensions directory and the rates are standard.

HostArmada Domains

I have published an article on GoDaddy domains and steps to buy a domain with the UPI payment method. Check it if you prefer payments methods like UPI, debit cards, digital wallets and other online payment methods.

Additional Features

Migrations

You get three free website migrations with the Web Warp plan. And they include five free website migrations in the Speed Reaper plan. The Start Dock plan includes only one website transfer.

CDN

Unfortunately, there is no option for CDN with HostArmada. 

Site Builder

The Site Builder provided by HostArmada is SitePad and it is a decent site builder that is easy to use. It is a drag-and-drop site builder with many features and integrations. 

Security

HostArmada offers a variety of security tools for its users. They have taken several security measures to ensure the safety of your websites. These include firewall protection, malware protection, Brute-Force protection and more reliable security features.

HostArmada Security

SSL

HostArmada provides a free SSL certificate for each of your domains. 

Immunify 360

Immunify 360 is a malware detection security tool provided by HostArmada at the server level. This means you can’t control it and would have to request support to run the scans on your website.

HostArmada Immunify 360

Website Restoration

Every device connected to the internet is exposed to hacking. In case your website or the server gets hacked, HostArmada has a website restoration option through which you can restore your website. 

Technology Used in HostArmada

HostArmada uses Apache NGINX and LiteSpeed servers for web hosting helping your websites with great speeds and performance. 

It also supports several programming software and languages. Developers will love these options supported to build a website. Below is the detailed list of these:

HostArmada Technology

HostArmada Pros

1. Good Website Speed

HostArmada servers provide good website speed. And looking at the results, we can conclude the website will load quickly with no problems. 

2. Good Load Management (Apache servers)

The Apache servers of the Web Warp plan managed the users load well. You can consider this plan for your website if you expect a tremendous variation in traffic. 

3. Feature Rich 

HostArmada offers a range of features like daily backups, unmetered bandwidth and many security features. You get Immunify 360, firewalls for your website, a free SSL certificate for all your domains and other additional tools. 

4. Data Centers

HostArmada has 9 data centers across the globe. Having these many data centers gives them the advantage with their user base in different locations. 

5. Good Site Builder

SitePad is a drag-and-drop website builder with over 700 themes and includes many widgets. By using SitePad, you can build and edit your website with no coding knowledge. 

6. Excellent Support

HostArmada’s customer support is excellent and you get 24/7 live chat support. The replies are quick and specific. The website also has an informative knowledge base with solutions to different problems. 

HostArmada Cons

1. Poor Load Handling (LiteSpeed server)

The LiteSpeed servers of the Speed Reaper plan didn’t handle the load test well and as a result, it might affect real-time users, reducing your customers. 

2. Uptime Needs Improvement

HostArmada has recently changed their Indian servers, and the uptime has been superb since then. But considering the overall uptime before this change, the result was unsatisfactory. 

3. New Company

HostArmada was founded in 2019 and has a small user base as of now. The results of the tests have been good as of now. But, in case the users increase, will they maintain the same quality of their service?

I would suggest either opt for well-established companies like Hostinger or FastComet for reliable service.

Should you trust this new company?

I have seen several new companies come into the market and leave within 2 years of their service. This might not be the case with all of them. But to be on the safer side, it is better to wait before opting for a hosting service with any new company.

I had a pleasant experience with HostArmada’s support team. So, if you plan to take a web hosting service from HostArmada, I would recommend you to back up your files on an external server or cloud storage (Google Drive). 

And considering that HostArmada is a new company and has less load now on their servers, it is best to buy for 1 year and check if they maintain the same quality in the future.

Bottom Line

In conclusion, HostArmada is a good feature-packed web host. The results of the tests suggest the same, with good load handling (Apache servers), amazing speed and performance. 

The customer support is knowledgeable and very helpful. HostArmada has affordable prices for its plans. HostArmada hosting is a good option for beginners with good value for money.

Hope you got all the details you were looking for. Let me know your thoughts on HostArmada and its services. 

Comment your doubts and views regarding HostArmada in the comment section below and I will get in touch with you soon. Hope the insights were helpful, and you liked this HostArmada Review. Subscribe to my Newsletter to never miss out on the latest articles!

This is Kripesh signing off! Take care and happy learning!

FAQs

Does HostArmada offer cPanel?

Yes, HostArmada has cPanel to manage your websites. This control panel lets you manage all the services in a single place, making it easy to use and control the services.

Does HostArmada offer a free domain name?

Yes, HostArmada offers a free domain registration/transfer included in all the plans. This is applicable only for plans purchased for a duration of 1 year (12 months) or more.

Which shared hosting plan is the best in HostArmada?

The Web Warp plan is the best option for shared hosting in HostArmada. This plan is feature-packed and uses Apache NGINX servers. Major features include unlimited websites, unmetered bandwidth, daily backups, dynamic caching, 3 free website migrations to name a few. 

When was HostArmada founded?

HostArmada is a US-based company, founded in 2019. It offers WordPress Hosting, Shared Hosting, Dedicated Hosting, VPS Hosting and provides domain registration. Plans start from $3.99/month and include many features with reliable security.

Is HostArmada reliable?

Yes, HostArmada provides several security features like SSL certificates, malware detection, firewall protection and Brute-Force attack protection. It also provides daily backups, which is done off-server and has a 1-click website restoration option in case of an attack on your website.

How do I get a Coupon Code for HostArmada?

You can get 75% off on the website if you use my Coupon Code with HostArmada. Claiming the coupon is easy. Visit the official website and during checkout, apply the coupon ‘KRIPESH75’ and make the purchase. 

 What are the renewal prices of HostArmada? 

The shared hosting plans start from $3.99/month for its Start Dock plan. The Web Warp plan is priced at $4.69/month and the Speed Reaper plan at $5.66/month. Renewal prices are $13.31 for Start Dock, $15.64for Web Warp and $18.86 for Speed Reaper. 

hostarmada logo

 HostArmada Pros (+)

  • Speed
  • Load Management
  • Feature Rich 
  • Data Centers
  • Good Site Builder
  • Excellent Support

 HostArmada Cons (-)

  • Poor Load Handling (LiteSpeed server)
  • Poor Uptime
  • New Company

Leave a Comment